Boards & Commissions

Board of Zoning

The Board of Zoning Appeals is a five-member board, appointed by the Mayor with the approval of a majority of members elected to Council.

The Board meets on the last Tuesday of the month, as needed. Caucus begins promptly at 6:30 p.m., and the meeting begins at 7:00 p.m. All meetings are open to the public.

The Board of Zoning hears and decides appeals made for exceptions to and variations in the zoning ordinance of the Municipality in conformity with the purpose and intent thereof and to hear and decide all appeals made for exceptions to and variations in the application of zoning ordinances or orders and regulations of administrative officials or agencies in regard thereto.

The board shall permit an exception or variance from the zoning ordinance only when there are practical difficulties or unnecessary hardships in the way of carrying out the strict interpretation of zoning ordinance and so long as the granting of such exception or variance will be in harmony with general purpose and intent of said ordinance and that the public health, safety and general welfare will continue to be secured and substantial justice done. All rulings of the Board of Zoning Appeals shall be subject to confirmation by the Council.

Civil Service Commission

The Civil Service Commission is a three-member board, appointed by the Mayor, with each member serving a six-year term. The Commission meets in a public session and is responsible for creating and monitoring rules and policies for the City’s civil service, conducting employee discipline hearings, developing new job classifications and duty statements, abolishing obsolete ones, and updating existing classifications; testing and certifying individuals in classified service, and managing and maintaining civil service records.

Planning Commission

The Planning Commission meets the second Monday of each month at 7:00 p.m. in Council Chamber. The Commission consists of one Council member, selected by the President of Council for a term as determined by Council, and four electors of the Municipality, appointed by the Mayor and approved by a majority of the Council members.

The Planning Commission acts as Planning Commissioner of the Municipality, and, as such, has control of planning and shall provide regulations covering the planning of all lands within the Municipality. The Planning Commission shall make such regulations as it deems necessary as to the manner in which streets and other public ways shall be graded and improved. The manner in which and the extent to which water, sewer and other utility mains, piping or other facilities shall be installed, or establish any other conditions precedent to the approval of a proposed plan. The Commission shall make plans and maps of the whole or any portion of the Municipality and of any land outside the Municipality, which, in the opinion of the Commission, bears a relation to the planning of the Municipality and to make changes.

The Planning Commission shall have such powers as may be conferred on it by ordinance of the Council concerning the plan, design, location, removal, relocation, and alteration of any public building or structure or those located on public streets of property, the location, relocation, widening, extension and vacation of streets, parkways, playgrounds and other public places, the zoning and rezoning of the Municipality for any lawful purpose and such other powers as now or may hereafter be conferred upon by ordinance of the Council or the general laws of Ohio. All plans and recommendations made by the Planning Commission shall be submitted to Council for approval before the same shall be considered as official.